Published Works

Short Fiction

“Hacking Dad”
The Gamer Chronicles, ed. Samuel Peralta, Windrift Books 2019

“Three Speeches About Billy Grainger”
Resist!, ed. Hugh Howey, Gary Whitta, Christie Yant, Broad Reach Publishing 2018
Lightspeed Magazine, November 2020

“The Gray Sunrise”
The End Has Come, ed. Hugh Howey & John Joseph Adams, Broad Reach Publishing, 2015

The End is Now, ed. Hugh Howey & John Joseph Adams, Broad Reach Publishing, 2015

“The Past Within”
Currents & Tangents Press, 2014

Currents & Tangents Press, 2014

“A Memorial to the Patriots”
Help Fund My Robot Army!!! and Other Improbable Crowdfunding Projects, ed. John Joseph Adams, 2014

“Mission. Suit. Self”
War Stories, ed. Andrew Liptak & Jaym Gates, Apex Books, 2014

“Wedding Day”
The End is Nigh, ed. Hugh Howey & John Joseph Adams, Broad Reach Publishing, 2014, February 2015

“Looking for Bad Guys”
Fireside Magazine, September 2013

“The Adventure of the Further Adventures of The Star Wanderer”, September 2013

“Chip’s Six Attempts at Popularity”
Waylines Magazine, July 2013

“Biographical Fragments of the Life of Julian Prince”
Lightspeed Magazine, March 2013
Zui Found, August 2013, Chinese literary journal
Escape Pod podcast, December 2013
Galaxies-SF, 2015, French SF magazine.
Year’s Best Science Fiction, ed. Gardner Dozois, St. Martins, 2014
Wastelands 2, ed. John Joseph Adams, Titan, 2014
Nowa Fantastyka, 2015, Polish SF magazine
Great Jones Street, 2017

“The Alien Invasion As Seen In the Twitter Feed of @dweebless”
Unidentified Funny Objects, ed. Alex Shvartsman, UFO Press, 2012

Fireside Magazine, August 2012
Escape Pod podcast, March 2013

“Requiem in the Key of Prose”
Lightspeed Magazine, July 2012
Tales From a Lone Star, ed. William Ledbetter and Melanie Fletcher, Belaurient Press, 2013
Great Jones Street, 2017

“Through the Mirror, Darkly”
The Newer York, June 2012, co-written with Micah Joel

“The Old Equations”
Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011
Launchpad, ed. Jody Lynn Nye and Mike Brotherton, 2013
Finalist 2011 Nebula Award
Shortlist, 2011 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award
Shortlist, 2011 StorySouth Million Writers Award
Great Jones Street, 2017


The Tommy Black Series
Tommy Black and the Staff of Light
Tommy Black and the Coat of Invincibility

The Thieves Guild Series
The Thieves Guild
The Burning City (coming December 2023)